Organizational structure
National Library is under the administration of the Department of Historical Research and National Library, Ministry of Religious Affairs and Culture. The functions of the library are managed by the Director in National Library (Naypyitaw); Among the 38 total strength of the National Library,14 staffs are holders of Diploma, Master and Ph.D on Library and information field. Most of the library staffs are degree holders and complete short courses on library science.
Heads of the National Library
Since its opening as National Library, the Heads of the National Library are as follow:
1)         U Than Maung (1952-1955)
2)         Daw Nyunt Myint (1955-1971)
3)         Daw Than Than Aye (1971-1988)
4)         U Kyaing Hlaing (1988-1989)
5)         U Khin Maung Tin (1989-2001)
6)         U Myint Kyaing (1998-2001)
7)         U Kyaw Oo (2001-2010)
8)         Daw Mya Oo (2010-2017,April) NLM(Yangon)
9)         U Myint Zaw (2013) NLM (Naypyitaw)
10)       Dr.KayThi Htwe (2013-2017, April) NLM (Naypyitaw)
11)       Daw Mya Oo (2017-date) NLM (Naypyitaw)
12)       Dr.Kay Thi Htwe (2017-2018) NLM (Yangon)
13)       Daw Yi Yi Htwe  (2018-date) NLM (Yangon)